Amended Information and Communication Technology Sector Code

The ICT Sector comprises the Broadcasting, Electronics, Information Technology and Telecommunications sub-sectors together with participants from the social partners, namely Government, Labour, Community, and ICASA.

The charter in Gazette 40407 dated 07 November 2016 may be found here (pdf document).

The Code utilises the Generic Codes as a base for its charter as far possible under B-BBEE legislation with an emphasis on three priority elements as listed below and altered weighting points per element.

Priority elements

The priority elements can be summarised as follows:

  • Ownership – The sub-minimum requirement for Ownership is 40% of Net Value (40%) of the 8 points) based on the Time Based Graduation factor as provided in Annexure E.
  • Skills Development – A Measured Entity must achieve a minimum of 40’% of the total targets set out in each of paragraphs 2.1.1 and 2.1.2 of the Skills Development Element of Code Series AICT300 Statement AICT300. Non-compliance with this subminimum requirement will result in the achieved B-BBEE status level being discounted.
  • Enterprise and Supplier Development – A Measured Entity must achieve a minimum of 40% of each of the targets set out in clauses 2.1 (i.e. 10 of 25 points), 2.2 (i.e. 4 of 10 points) and 2.3 (i.e. 6 of 15 points) excluding bonus points of the Enterprise and Supplier Development Scorecard Code Series AICT400′ and Statement AICT400.
Element Weighting points Code series reference
Ownership 25 AICT100
Management Control 23 AICT200
Skills Development 20 AICT300
Enterprise and Supplier Development   AICT400
Preferential Procurement 25  
Supplier Development 15  
Enterprise Development 15  
Socio-Economic Development
12 AICT500

This article is provided for information only, and does not constitute the provision of professional advice of any kind.

Leave a Reply